Saturn Film Awards

Saturn Awards are presented annually by The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films to honour the best works in science fiction, fantasy and horror in film, television and home video. The Academy is a US based non-profit organisation and awards are voted on by members of the Academy.

If you’ve run out of ideas for what to watch next, especially if you’re new to science fiction and fantasy, this could be a good place to start. Winners for this and the Saturn TV awards tend to be American – possibly because members of the Academy are predominantly American, though more likely because most SF, Fantasy and Horror is produced in America!

Science fiction Fantasy
2017 Blade Runner  2049 The Shape of Water
2016 Rogue One: A Star Wars Story The Jungle Book
2015 Star Wars: The Force Awakens Cinderella
2014 Interstellar The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
2013 Gravity Her
2012 The Avengers Life of Pi
2011 Rise of the Planet of the Apes Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2
2010 Inception Alice in Wonderland
2009 Avatar  Watchmen
2008 Iron Man The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
2007 Cloverfield Enchanted
2006 Children of Men Superman Returns
2005 Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith Batman Begins
2004 Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind Spider-Man 2
2003 X2: X-Men United The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
2002 Minority Report The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
2001 A.I. Artificial Intelligence The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
2000 X-Men Frequency
1999 The Matrix Being John Malkovich
1998 Dark City & Armageddon (tie) The Truman Show
1997 Men in Black Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery
1996 Independence Day Dragonheart
1995 12 Monkeys Babe
1994 Stargate Forrest Gump
1993 Jurassic Park The Nightmare Before Christmas
1992 Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country Aladdin
1991 Terminator 2: Judgement Day Edward Scissorhands
1989/90 Total Recall Ghost
1988 Alien Nation Who Framed Roger Rabbit
1987 Robocop The Princess Bride
1986 Aliens The Boy Who Could Fly
1985 Back to the Future Ladyhawke
1984 The Terminator Ghostbusters
1983 Return of the Jedi Something Wicked This Way Comes
1982 E.T. The Extraterrestrial The Dark Crystal
1981 Superman II Raiders of the Lost Ark
1980 The Empire Strikes Back Somewhere in Time
1979 Alien The Muppet Movie
1978 Superman: The Movie Heaven Can Wait
1977 Star Wars Oh God
1976 Logan’s Run The Holes
1974/75 Rollerball Doc Savage
1973 Soylent Green The Golden Voyage of Sinbad
1972 Slaughterhouse-Five  N/A

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.